Quick Review: Object File Zip

During a recent server migration, a big, .ZIP’d backup file wouldn’t open in Windows Explorer. After some searching I found Object File Zip, a freeware program from Essential Data Tools, that claims to recover damaged zip files.

I downloaded it, malware tested it, and everything looked clean.

I installed it on one of my test systems, copied the 5GB corrupt ZIP file, and ran a repair/extract. The program gives the option to copy to a new .ZIP file or just extract the contents.

All went well, and the program was able to extract the files from my corrupted ZIP file.

As always your results may vary and I always recommend you do your own testing and scanning of any new tools, but Object File Zip worked as advertised for my application.

The home page is http://www.essentialdatatools.com/products/objectfixzip/ which has a direct download… and it is also available from  Download.com (which I no longer recommend).

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

